Frequently Asked Questions:

#1 - What is Redistricting? 

Redistricting is the process cities go through periodically to determine district boundaries for Common Council districts.  This determines which constituents are represented by respective Council members based on their residential addresses within the City of Noblesville.  As a Second Class City, Noblesville has six Council districts and three at-large Council seats.

#2 - How often is it required?

Redistricting is required by law to be completed at least every 10 years, following certification of federal census data.

Additionally, redistricting is required when a city converts from Third-Class City status to Second-Class City status.  Noblesville completed a redistricting process in 2014 when it was converting to Second-Class City status and the number of council districts increased from seven to nine.

#3 - What factors have to be considered when a city goes through a redistricting process?

Pursuant to Indiana Code section 36-4-6-3, a council district map for a Second-Class City has to divide the city into six districts that:

(1) are composed of contiguous territory,

(2) are reasonably compact,

(3) do not cross precinct boundary lines, except in specified circumstances; and

(4) contain, as nearly as possible, equal population.

The General Assembly and courts have given further guidance to municipalities as to specific application of these standards, consistent with democratic goals and voter fairness considerations.

#4 - What data is used by a city in preparing new maps?

After federal census data is certified, the County Clerk's office updates voting precinct boundaries and eligible voter data.  After that process is completed, the city then applies the requirements outlined in FAQ#3 above to the geography of the city to prepare a district map that best adheres to those requirements.

#5 - What is the approval process and deadline for adopting the new district map?

A proposed new council district map is considered by the Common Council in light of public comment received on the topic.  Following the public comment period, the Council can vote to adopt a new map for the districts, which would be effective for 2023 primary and general elections.  The new districts have to be adopted before November 2022.

#6 - How can members of the public participate in the process?

Members of the public can provide comment to the city and its Common Council members, offering feedback, questions, and comments on the proposed map and any alternatives that may be considered.  Comment can be provided in person at Council meetings following the first reading of the redistricting ordinance, or through email, phone, or mail by using contact information available at

Proposed Ordinance:

Proposed Ordinance 31-05-22 PDF

Exhibit Maps:

Pursuant to Ordinance 31-05-22 (linked above) Exhibit A (below) identifies the proposed new redistricting map, dividing the city into six districts. Exhibit B (below) is the same proposed new redistricting map with the precinct boundaries (outlined in red) and their titles, including the proposed new “Precinct 44”

Exhibit Map A

Exhibit Map B