Darren Peterson Elected As New Noblesville Common Council President


Darren Peterson will serve as the new president of the Noblesville Common Council following a vote during a reorganization meeting held Monday evening. Megan Wiles was elected as vice president.

Leadership“I look forward to working with Darren in his new leader position, along with the entire common council in 2021, as we continue to make the community better, safer and more prosperous,” said Noblesville Mayor Chris Jensen.

Peterson was elected to serve the remainder of a term on the Noblesville Common Council in October 2018 and was elected to his first full term in 2020. As an At Large official, Peterson represents all of Noblesville and its voters in city limits and Noblesville Township.

“Despite the challenges we faced, the City of Noblesville accomplished a lot last year. I am very excited to lead the council and continue to work collaboratively with Mayor Jensen and his staff to move the city forward,” said Peterson. “There are some very exciting projects already out of the ground, cultural initiatives being considered and many more opportunities for everyone in Noblesville to be successful and continue to be proud of our great city.”

Peterson earned his bachelor’s degree in architecture from Ball State University. In 1996, he founded Peterson Architecture, a full-service architectural and planning firm, in Downtown Noblesville.

In the community, Peterson serves on the board of directors for Nickel Plate Arts and is a member of the Noblesville Chamber of Commerce, Noblesville Noon Kiwanis and Noblesville Lions Club. Two particular projects he has focused his time and energy on are activating the downtown alleys and crosswalk art projects throughout the city. He is married to Jennifer Roberts and has two daughters, Ava and Emily Peterson.

Also discussed at the reorganization meeting were the 2021 Noblesville Common Council committee assignments which include:

Building/Land Acquisition – Darren Peterson (Chair) and Brian Ayer.

Downtown District – Megan Wiles (Chair), Darren Peterson, Aaron Smith and Brian Ayer.

Economic Development – Greg O’Connor (Chair), Megan Wiles, Aaron Smith and Mike Davis.

Finance – Mike Davis (Chair), Greg O’Connor, Megan Wiles and Wil Hampton.

Parks – Pete Schwartz (Chair), Wil Hampton, Mike Davis and Darren Peterson.

Public Safety – Mark Boice (Chair), Brian Ayer, Pete Schwartz and Greg O’Connor.

Road/Traffic/Engineering – Wil Hampton (Chair), Brian Ayer, Aaron Smith and Mark Boice.

Wastewater – Brian Ayer (Chair), Pete Schwartz, Mike Davis and Mark Boice.

Nominating – Darren Peterson (Chair), Megan Wiles and Wil Hampton.

Council appointments include:

  • Façade Grant Committee – Sandy Stewart and John Adams
  • Parks Foundation Board – Ken Bubp
  • Redevelopment Commission – Jack Martin and Rick Taylor

Special appointments of the council include:

  • Noblesville Plan Commission – Aaron Smith
  • Architectural Review Board – Brian Ayer and Darren Peterson
  • Tree Board – Jennifer Roberts
  • Cultural Arts District Liaison – Megan Wiles