Brian Ayer Elected As New Noblesville Common Council President


Brian AyerBrian Ayer will replace Chris Jensen as the new president of the Noblesville Common Council following a vote during a reorganization meeting held Monday evening. Wil Hampton was elected as vice president.

“I am excited for Brian to serve in this leadership position again and look forward to working with him and the entire common council in 2019 as we continue to make the community better and more prosperous,” said Noblesville Mayor John Ditslear.

As the most tenured member on the Noblesville Common Council, Ayer began serving his fourth term in January 2016. During his years on the council, Ayer has served on all council committees and previously served as council president in 2008. As an at-large official, he represents all of Noblesville and its voters in city limits and Noblesville Township.

“The council’s goals for 2019 are to continue working to achieve the 10 Noblesville NOW capital improvement plan objectives and progressing forward on making improvements to our infrastructure, especially the major thoroughfares of Pleasant Street and State Road 37,” Ayer said.

Ayer has been a Noblesville resident since 1964 and graduated from Noblesville High School in 1976. He and his family started Ayer’s Real Estate in 1978, which serves Noblesville and Hamilton County. In the community, Ayer is a member of the Noblesville Chamber of Commerce and served on the board and as a past president; member and past board member of Noblesville Main; and past board member of Habitat for Humanity of Hamilton County. He also is a member of First United Methodist Church, Noblesville Elks Lodge and Noblesville Moose Lodge.

Also discussed at the reorganization meeting were the 2019 Noblesville Common Council committee assignments which include:

Building/Land Acquisition – Brian Ayer (Chair) and Darren Peterson.

Downtown District – Rick Taylor (Chair), Darren Peterson, Megan Wiles and Wil Hampton.

Economic Development – Wil Hampton (Chair), Megan Wiles, Greg O’Connor and Darren Peterson.

Finance – Megan Wiles (Chair), Chris Jensen, Greg O’Connor and Rick Taylor.

Parks – Rick Taylor (Chair), Mark Boice, Roy Johnson and Greg O’Connor.

Public Safety – Roy Johnson (Chair), Wil Hampton, Rick Taylor and Chris Jensen.

Road/Traffic/Engineering – Chris Jensen (Chair), Mark Boice, Roy Johnson and Megan Wiles.

Wastewater – Mark Boice (Chair), Roy Johnson, Darren Peterson and Brian Ayer.

Nominating – Brian Ayer (Chair), Wil Hampton and Chris Jensen.


Special appointments of the council are:

  • Noblesville Plan Commission – Darren Peterson
  • Architectural Review Board – Darren Peterson and Brian Ayer
  • Community Vision – Megan Wiles
  • Tree Board – Rick Taylor
  • Parking Task Force – Rick Taylor and Darren Peterson
  • Cultural Arts District Liaison – Chris Jensen