Noblesville Police Chief Recognized by Governor Eric Holcomb As Distinguished Hoosier

Distinguished Hoosier


Noblesville Police Chief Kevin Jowitt was recently awarded the Governor’s Distinguished Hoosier Award at the 2018 Indiana Association of Chiefs of Police Mid-Winter Conference. Jowitt was presented the award by Indiana Association of Chiefs of Police President Jason Domkowski of the West Lafayette Police Department in front of his peers in law enforcement.

The Distinguished Hoosier Award is one of the highest honors that the Governor of Indiana bestows. It is a personal tribute given to those who have rendered a distinguished service to the state.

“I’m honored and humbled to receive this award,” said Jowitt. “I’ve had the pleasure of working with so many wonderful people in law enforcement and in other areas of public service over the past 41 years. I’m very grateful that I’ve been able to be a part of public safety in Noblesville and Hamilton County.”

Prior to his appointment in Noblesville in May 2009, Jowitt served as chief of police in Westfield, Indiana. He is a retired division commander from the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office and began his law enforcement career at the Indiana University Police Department in Bloomington in May 1976.

Jowitt has a Master of Science in Criminal Justice and Public Safety and a Bachelor of Science in Business from Indiana University and has completed many professional development courses including sessions offered by the Southern Police Institute, Michigan State University, and the 71st session of the FBI’s Law Enforcement Executive Development Seminar.

Jowitt is Immediate Past President of the Indiana Association of Chiefs of Police and a member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Police Executive Research Forum, the FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development Association, and the Fraternal Order of Police. He also is a member of Sigma Nu Fraternity and Phi Eta Sigma, Golden Key, and Alpha Phi Sigma academic honoraria’s and serves on the Distinguished Alumni Council of the Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs.