Youth Council

The inaugural members of the Mayor’s Youth Council were inducted at the Noblesville Common Council meeting on May 29. The Mayor’s Youth Council was established to provide Noblesville’s young people a voice in government and an active role in addressing youth issues.

The Mayor’s Youth Council was founded by current NHS students Salil Gupta, Al Alvarez, John Cooke and Sam Wertz. It is free and open to students who live in or attend school in Noblesville – this includes students who attend public schools, private schools, or homeschooled students.

“This is an extremely talented group of young people,” said Ditslear. “I am excited for them to learn more about local government and to make a real impact on the issues affecting youth in their hometown. The Mayor’s Youth Council teens will gain leadership experience and help make Noblesville a better place.”

Members for the 2018-19 school year include: Delaney Amsler, Nick Beeson, Aidan Biddle, Joseph Gassensmith, Luke Johns, Jaclyn Klinger, Zachary Lamantia, Olivia Long, Lauren Patrick, Ellie Payne, Trevor Rice, Grace Wiles and Carys Wisnewski.

The council will advise the mayor on issues relevant to youth, learn about municipal government and the importance of civic participation, and discuss and educate their peers on council initiatives. Youth Council members will meet on the first and third Tuesday of each month. In addition to these meetings, students may attend events and activities related to their initiatives and responsibilities.